God help me see through your eyes – Rhythms of ritual

Arriving at Amen Leah LibrescoLeah Libresco, author of Arriving at Amen – Seven Catholic Prayers that Even I Can Offer, grew up as an atheist until she discovered that she was wrong about religion, especially Catholicism.

Libresco became Catholic in the winter of 2012 and blogs daily on religion and philosophy for Patheos at Unequally Yoked: A Geeky Convert Picks Fights in Good Faith.

I find Libresco’s perception of the mass refreshing as she reminds Catholics that, “The whole point of the Mass is not Bible study, but direct contact with the Risen Christ, fully present in the Eucharist.”

Rhythms of ritual is what Libresco also provides in great detail on the practice of Examen, a prayerful reflection on daily events to detect God’s presence and understand His direction for us.

Some of Libresco’s practices include things like bracketing the day with prayer and reserving time for morning and evening reflection. She also provides study guide questions at the end of the book.

There’s a practice shared in Arriving at Amen that I particularly liked. Take a person’s picture and place it where you are sure to see it while thinking about a particular positive virtue that person holds (humility, charity, non-judgement, patience) and then imitate that virtue in yourself.

In closing, Libresco reminded me of a Thomas Merton prayer that says it all:

“My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think that I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing.”

As you read Arriving at Amen, genuinely reflect on asking God to help you see through His eyes.

FTC Disclosure: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Ave Maria Press for review purposes. Moment to Moment, Inc. is a professional review site that receives commission from the companies whose products we review only if the product is purchased. We review each product thoroughly and give high marks to only the very best. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Leave a Reply

