And So I Prayed … Hail Mary Full of Grace

How do you learn to release hatred and anger and replace it with love and forgiveness after enduring the most dreadful manslaughter of Tutsis by the Hutus in the 1994 East African state of Rwanda?

The RosaryFor 91 days, seven women were cramped in a tiny bathroom — three-feet-by-four-feet.  One woman was Immaculée Ilibagiza, author of The Rosary: The Prayer That Saved My Life.

Immaculée shares her devotion to the rosary, a string of prayer beads used as a guided meditation on the lives of Mary and Jesus.  It’s a devotion in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Everyday, and sometimes more than once, she meditated on the interpretations expressed through the events of the mysteries and devotions to our Blessed Mother Mary while listening to the bloodshed outside the bathroom walls.

As Immaculée shares, “this wasn’t the first time she relied on this form of prayer to sustain her through her dark days of the Rwandan genocide.” She began praying the rosary with her family at the age of four.

Even though all Catholics learn the Glorious, Luminous, Sorrowful and Joyful mysteries during their religious education, praying the rosary is not limited to Catholics.

Many Protestants have chosen this biblical form of devotion and prayer meditating on the mysteries from the Annunciation where Mary is chosen mother of Jesus, all the way through the other eighteen miraculous events ending with The Coronation of Mary as Queen of Heaven.

Rosary on BibleThroughout this book, The Rosary, Immaculée makes it very easy and memorable to comprehend the meaning behind these special prayer beads.

She tells the stories of Jesus’ life as she imagines she is resting her head on Mother Mary’s lap witnessing the events played out within the five stories of each of the four mysteries.

It wasn’t difficult for me to pull out my own rosary, gathering dust since 2009, and begin contemplating the life of Jesus and what He and his mother have done for me.

Thanks to Hay House, this book was available to me at the right time in my life — and not by coincidence.  I pray my own Hail Mary’s as I drift off to sleep that she protect my daughter-in-law and new baby grandchild about to make an early entry into this world.

And so I pray as Immaculée prayed, “Hail Mary full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.”

I send you my love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )

2 Responses to And So I Prayed … Hail Mary Full of Grace

  1. Ginger Sebastian says:

    I’ve met this woman. Remarkable story – have you read her book “Left to Tell?” Very inspiring. I’ll have to read The Rosary.

    • mmt2mmt says:

      You are so fortunate to have met Immaculee; her story is a remarkable story of perseverance and faith. I haven’t read Left To Tell but hear it is a gut wrenching story. The Rosary restored my devotion to my own rosary routine. Thanks and hope all is well with you … stay tuned for more stunning reviews!

Leave a Reply

