The Healing Power of a Gentle Touch – Create the Change you Desire

From My Hands and HeartKate MacKinnon’s new book, From My Hands and Heart, Achieving Health and Balance with Craniosacral Therapy was a unique and new read for me.

MacKinnon is a successful Physiotherapist and Craniosacral Therapist with many years experience in this new, sought after healing modality.

The lesson I got from MacKinnon was that Craniosacral Therapy is a healing power of gentle touch that creates a change (emotional trauma, back pain, dental issues, etc.) that I desire.

MacKinnon shares another way to look at the field of Craniosacral Therapy:

“A craniosacral therapist uses gentle touch to map the body’s responses to stress and injury –sometimes from a recent accident or illness, and sometimes long-ago trauma –and then supports the body in releasing them…”

In this book, MacKinnon shares a lot about the foundational concepts, detailed case studies, and hands-on techniques of Craniosacral Therapy.  It’s very enlightening.

I wasn’t sure where the craniosacral system was located, but MacKinnon made it easy to visualize.MC900438791

In my general, non-medical terminology (I’m definitely not a physician), there are several bones in  our skull down through our spinal cord to the sacrum located right above our tailbone.  This system affects every other part of our body.

This book is a major education for anyone trying to understand how the interconnected nature of our cranium system affects our entire body and what we can do to alleviate this pain.

Some people might consider this book clinical, but it was an easy, engaging read for me.  There were times that her personal stories touched me so deeply that I began to cry.

MacKinnon’s tender explanations and stories in describing this up-and-coming complementary method of alternative healing is — as I sense through her words — the gentle touch she applies to her clients.

Next up on my agenda is to learn about the subtle nature of my own craniosacral system and schedule my appointment with one of these specialized therapists in my area.  After my first visit, I’ll be sure to share the results with you.

I send you my love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. I am also an affiliate for Amazon.  The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )

Leave a Reply

