And The Walls Come Tumbling Down!

It is not so much that you ignore your negative feelings as that you process them incompletely. Letting the events of your life, even the painful ones, touch you deeply will only enrich you ~ The Wisdom of the Enneagram, 281

I hope many of you remember the game, Jenga.

Jenga is a game of skill with 54 wooden blocks that builds a tower, layer upon layer in a north/south, east/west fashion.

jengaThe challenge in playing Jenga is to pull one block from the stack of blocks and place it back on top of the entire tower in hopes that the tower doesn’t come crashing down.

When I began to realize that each one of the wooden blocks represents each of my limiting beliefs, it blew me away – I got it!

I had filled myself up with so many limiting beliefs over the years that when the tower collapsed, I wasn’t able to recover so easily.  I had to renew and regenerate myself layer by layer and fill me up with new, empowering beliefs.

Here’s what I did.  Imagine each block of this tower being a limiting belief created throughout my life.  A few of my limiting beliefs looked like this:

“No matter what I do, it’s never enough”
“I can’t do this, I’ll never be successful”
“I shouldn’t do this because I’ll probably mess it up”
“If anyone knew the real me, they wouldn’t like me
I’m not as pretty as she is”
“I’m not skinny enough; no wonder she gets everything she wants

Sound familiar?

MP900382868Well, once I realized that my limiting beliefs were interfering with my success, I painstakingly worked through many of them, as I’m continuing to do to this day.

I chose to feel each and every one of them I could identify.  I brought them to the surface and repeatedly prayed, while silently claiming,  “clear, cancel, delete”.

This routine never stops because I’m always uncovering a hidden belief.  My strong faith in God helps to more quickly heal the wounds I’ve inflicted upon my own heart.  As they say, “God don’t make junk!”

There’s a great Bible verse that goes along with this practice.  It’s from John 15:7, “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you (NKJV).

Until later, I send you faith, love, hope, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

Leave a Reply

