Our Secret Inner Garden – “I Yam What I Yam …”

Vegetables“I yam what I yam and that’s all what I yam,” Popeye said as he slurped down a can of spinach, the food that gave him power to save the day!

Many of you may not remember this famous cartoon character from the 1930s who became a power hero in the 1950s animation series, Popeye the Sailor Man.

His antics made mother’s scream at their children, “eat your vegetables!”  However, after this popular comical suitor debuted, our food life took a left turn.

We became besieged by new food technology that produced rogue ingredients in favor of longer shelf life.  The new technology zapped the life out of our soils for producing nutrient rich crops which in turn went into newly packaged food items with even more toxic preservatives and sugars.  The rest, is as they say, history.

Body Ecology Guide to Growing YoungerAlas, all is not lost in the foods we put in our mouth.  I’m very grateful for the opportunity to have finished reading the most healthful, enlightening, food empowering book, Body Ecology Guide to Growing Younger, by Donna Gates.

Gates is a cheerleader for our secret inner garden – our guts, cells and DNA.  Her book and research is a marvelous expose about the pathway to better health and anti-aging.

Body Ecology Guide to Growing Younger is more than a trend today called “going green”.  It’s about a way of eating that combines foods, acidic and alkaline, that can change a body from toxic obesity to an anti-aging Raquel Welch; or for those younger than I, Jessica Biel.

After I finished her book and marveled at her eye-opening, jaw-dropping research that resonated from deep within, I immediately put her recommendations into action.

I marched over to my local health food store to buy the simpler items she recommends.  I then joined her Body Ecology newsletter, and I scoured her website for many cultured vegetable and fermented food starters that are now on my shopping list.

My Amethyst BioMat treatment

My Amethyst BioMat treatment by Marcia Wilson

I’m really fortunate to be one step ahead of many of the recommendations that Gates makes in this book, because I practice preventive holistic therapies.  She outlines many of these unique therapies throughout this tale of body, mind and soul rejuvenation.

Along with my new eating regimen, one therapy I find extremely relaxing and beneficial for stress reduction, lowered blood pressure, an accelerated healing process and renewed alertness, referred to in Body Ecology Guide to Growing Younger, is the BioMat.

I’m so lucky to have a local provider, The Chakra Center, that recognized this therapy as complementary for my physical, mental and spiritual health.

If you want to learn how to carry away cellular debris, clean out the toxins in your body, learn about the youthful cosmetic benefits of foods that turn back the hands of time, you’ll want Body Ecology Guide to Growing Younger in your arsenal of “I yam what I yam and I yam eating well”.

Remember the other healthful saying Popeye proclaimed, “I’m strong to the finish, ’cause I eats me spinach …!”

I send you love, blessings and wishes for a food empowering, prosperous and abundant life.

(I was not financially compensated for this post.  I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.  I am also an affiliate of Hay House Publishing and Amazon.)

One Response to Our Secret Inner Garden – “I Yam What I Yam …”

  1. Buongiorno

    There is an aware just for you! 🙂

    http://dishingitoutwithclarissa.com/2013/02/07/1775/

    Best Wishes & Warmest Regards

    ~ Clarissa

Leave a Reply

