Marines Practice Mindfulness – Eureka! Could Corporate America Be Next?

I am so excited!  The Associated Press just posted a story about Marines and mindfulness training.  You can read more about the article HERE.

MP900414112Wow, this was such a great moment for me when I finished reading the article.  I realized, like I stated in my blog from October 4, 2012, that Corporate America could stand a little mindfulness training themselves.

Here’s what the military says about mindfulness, “It’s like doing push-ups for the brain.”

I suggest that they are going to find out that the outcome of this mindfulness training is about more than just push-ups for the brain.  Our minds are more powerful than we can ever imagine, but not until we learn to quiet them.

Here’s my definition of mindfulness:

Mindfulness allows you to become present and aware of everything you are doing (sitting, eating, talking, driving, etc.) moment to moment, not the past nor the future, but the present moment.  The practice alleviates the wandering of all the multitude of negative, judgmental, envious, jealousy, angry and other thoughts and emotions that make us suffer.

One of the practices of mindfulness is meditation.

It is my solemn belief that the practice of meditation will open these military personnel to something even more powerful than they can imagine.

Even though the military defends their position that this is not tied to any religious practice, I, again, suggest that this practice of going within, a spiritual practice, gets us more in touch with our creator, whatever you want to call it, God, Buddha, Yahweh, Divine, Source, etc.

What a shame that our society has confused the institution of religion, us against them separation created by man not God, versus the practice of spirituality, a direct pipeline to universal consciousness that allows us to discover our authentic self and the gifts that God has graced us with.

MP900438394Meditation fills us with a knowingness like nothing we’ve ever experienced before.  It changes us and shapes a new perspective for our lives.

The military’s clinical explanation for using mindfulness training is, “… exercises help the brain better react to high-stress situations and recover more quickly from those episodes.”

They are right, but, why can’t they just add that mindfulness training has proven to alter an individual’s state of mind and connects them to their spirit within?  I know, I know, it’s a political, First Amendment, church and state issue, far larger than I am able to tackle – hmmph!

The quiet mind is where our power resides.  It grounds us and keeps us present and reflective.  It peels away our densely woven internal emotions one layer at a time.

Next up on my agenda will be a little bit about how to think like Sherlock Holmes, also a mindfulness disciple

As always, I send you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

Psalm 119:97-99 NKJV:  Oh how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day.  You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies; For they are ever with me.  I have more understanding than all my teachers, for Your testimonies are my meditation.

Leave a Reply

