Glory Girls by Linda Bleser – I Laughed, I Cried and I Couldn’t Get Enough!

I’m finally back from a well-deserved month off.  I spent a lot of time in August getting moved into a new home.  My fingers have turned into the very same coarse cardboard that I ripped through unpacking what felt like zillions of boxes.

During my breaks, I laughed, I cried and I couldn’t get enough.  It wasn’t because my fingers were covered in calluses, it was because I was engrossed in a book that literally took all the pain away from my fingers, my aching back and the hot summer days unpacking in the garage.

To soothe my soul, especially during times like this, I attend a weekly writer’s club meeting in my community.  The authors  that I meet with share a story or two that they’ve recently written, or they read chapters from their book in progress.  They are so talented and I’m hoping their talent rubs off on me.

One writer I’ve met through this group is local author, Linda Bleser.  I just finished her book, Glory Girls.  I became a character while reading this book.  I could relate to many of the surprising, loving, agonizing, life-changing and heart-wrenching  turns of a story about the lives of three sisters.

I felt like I was actually sitting in the rooms, cars, kitchens and the family resort that they occupied throughout the tumultuous ups and downs of their lives.

These three remarkably unique sisters yearned for the same thing out of life, all the while never realizing how much more they were alike than they thought.

Here’s a snippet from the book where Beth, a main character, is about to make a decision that will change the course of her life.

… “You can’t avoid it forever,” he said, his voice a mere whisper in her ear.  Just the sound of his voice was nearly enough to undo her.  It was getting harder and harder to deny the feelings growing between them.  At first she’d simply thought she was attracted to his mind. He’d opened up ideas and the world to her that she’d never explored before … “

The authors talent at painting a picture with words put me right in the center of the action between these girls, their father and their feisty grandmother, Granny Ro.

Every chapter of this book kept me guessing what would happen next – except, I was often wrong!  Bleser has a way with words and a gift at keeping me engaged through every word in every sentence … a remarkable talent and a remarkable story!

Thanks to Bleser, her book took me on a journey to remind me, “You have to tear down what you have in order to build something better.”

I hope you pick up a copy of the book, Glory Girls, and experience a world of family trials, tribulations and bruised egos as you laugh, cry and get more than you thought from a family on the brink of finding life’s meaning.

Until later, I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(I received this book for free from Linda Bleser for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.)

2 Responses to Glory Girls by Linda Bleser – I Laughed, I Cried and I Couldn’t Get Enough!

  1. Linda Bleser says:

    Thanks for the wonderful review, Chris!

Leave a Reply

