I’m Barefootin’ and Rowing My Boat through Messages in the Sand

Do you remember the song Row, Row, Row Your Boat?  I don’t own a boat, but I use this song to remind me that I’m the captain of my own ship.  I can’t row your boat like I can row mine.

Recently, my travels took me to a northern, gulf coast beach in Florida.  A beach filled with lots of people, sand and tons of boats.

A subtle message stood large, looming over my head, high in the sky as I was driving through this town.  The water tower read, “Get a little sand in your soul”.

The water tower message was very appropriate for me right at that moment as I started to slow my boat’s engine.

These messages are always about nature and pushing me to get grounded because I’ve disconnected from my purpose.

As the captain of my own ship, this message was clearly meant for me.  It was a message telling me to love and honor myself more – to take a little walk on the beach; so I did.

As I teetered to and fro across the white sandy beach, it reminded me of the poem, Footprints In The Sand.  This spiritual poem always soothes my soul and reminds me that God is, and always will be, at my side.

I cherished the moments this past weekend when I dug my feet in the sand walking along this beautiful gulf coast beach.  I finished my beach stroll with a little sand between my toes and a heartwarming feeling in my soul.

By the time I revved up the car’s engine, the song, Barefootin’, was playing on the radio.  What a culmination of a beautiful moment in the sand.  This song took me back to my youth when my family would dance around the house watching the Dick Clark show.  I smiled.

Yes, there is a God.

Now that I recognize His messages, I get them loud and clear.  His messages are as diverse as Row, Row, Row Your Boat, to Footprints in the Sand, to the song Barefootin’.  He’s always there reminding me of His love for me through these obscure messages.  He soothes my soul, slows my boat and makes me dance!

For now, throw off your shoes and do a little jig with me.

As always, I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life.

One Response to I’m Barefootin’ and Rowing My Boat through Messages in the Sand

  1. Great post! And there is nothing like the Florida gulf coast! I spent many a day there while I was growing up!

Leave a Reply

