Restless in Cincinnati Where Clouds Got In My Way – Forever Grateful to the Queen City

My time in Ohio has come and gone.  I’m so thankful that God has allowed my past to work out for my good.  I’m entering a new phase of my life in the sunshine state of Florida.

While viewing the city in my rear-view mirror as I drove out of Cincinnati this week, memories of my time here filled me with peace and love; yet at the same time, I realized I had become restless in Cincinnati where I spent entirely too much time letting clouds get in my way.

I began reflecting back over my nearly 30 years in Cincinnati.  Prior to arriving here, I really didn’t know much about life at all.

I was a young wife and mother when I moved from a small town in Illinois to this sprawling business center which is home headquarters to Procter & Gamble, the Kroger Company, and a subsidiary to my new employer then, General Electric.  I had illusions of fairy tales coming true for me.  I was ready to tackle anything, and I excited in all the new adventures placed before me.

However, a harsh reality, and my naiveté, set in as grander plans took shape in unique ways.  All that I experienced – the good and the bad – were for reasons unknown to me at the time.  These experiences, meant to teach me many lessons about life, were a necessary part of my learning.

In hindsight, I now see that God had a plan for me.  It was with His guidance that I survived the ups and downs, joyful moments, life’s challenges, successes and failures that swirled around me like a tornado ripping through city after city.

As I was remembering all the events that brought me to this day, the song Both Sides Now, written by Joni Mitchell and sung by Judy Collins, streamed eerily through the car’s radio.  I began to cry.

It was at this moment that I realized I was thankful for the lessons I learned in the Queen City.  While I was remembering my walk through the eye of the storm, I blessed my experiences as I repeated the words from the Lord’s prayer, “… forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us …”.

In order to understand why this song resonates with my experiences, sing along with the accompanying lyrics as you listen to the song below, Both Sides Now.

The glorious clouds were given to me for a reason.  I embrace them and I’m moving on.  Thank you, Cincinnati, for carrying me to the silver lining in the clouds.

As always, I send you blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life.

Both Sides Now
Sung by Judy Collins

Bows and flows of angel hair
And ice cream castles in the air.
And feather canyons everywhere,
I’ve looked at clouds that way.
But now they only block the sun,
They rain and snow on everyone.
So many things I would have done,
But clouds got in my way.

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now.
From up and down and still somehow,
It’s cloud’s illusions I recall.
I really don’t know clouds at all.

Moons and Junes and ferris wheels;
The dizzy dancing way you feel.
When every fairy tale comes real,
I’ve looked at love that way.
But now it’s just another show.
You leave ’em laughing when you go;
And if you care don’t let them know,
Don’t give yourself away.

I’ve looked at love from both sides now.
From win and lose and still somehow,
It’s love’s illusions I recall.
I really don’t know love at all

Tears and fears and feeling proud.
To say, “I love you” right out loud.
Teams and dreams and circus crowds,
I’ve looked at life that way.
But now old friends are acting strange;
They shake their heads,
They say I’ve changed.
But something’s lost but something’s gained,
In living every day.

I’ve looked at life from both sides now.
From give and take and still somehow;
It’s life’s illusions I recall.
I really don’t know life at all.

Leave a Reply

