Try A Little Color Therapy – See What The Color Blue Can Do For You

Blue thou art, intensely blue; flower, whence came thy dazzling hue? – James Montgomery

I’ve recently been reading some color therapy books.  The common theme from these books is that color matters.  Why does color matter?

I’ve learned that the physiologic response to color reveals that it can change an emotion or interaction with others in our every day life.  It affects our moods, self-awareness, gaining wisdom, seeking peace, reaching purity and is as powerful as to stimulate strength, joy, happiness and love.

One color that I’m pledging to wear more often is blue.  “Why blue”, you ask?  Here’s why blue:

  1. Produces a calming effect (strong sky blue is the most tranquillizing).
  2. When a person sees blue, the brain secretes 11 neurotransmitters that tranquillize.
  3. Slows the pulse rate.
  4. Reduces perspiration.
  5. Impedes flight or fight response.
  6. Lowers body temperature.
  7. Reduces appetites (notice how few blue foods exist in our diet).

I use sky blue glasses, dishes and plates in my kitchen.  I was going to get rid of these dishes, however, I’m now giving it a second thought.  Could this be why I’m not excessively overweight?

Jamie Lin, author of Color Alchemy, talks about how color affects our moods.  She’s gone so far as to create color T-shirts for every day of the week  aligned respectively with the chakra colors of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.

I’m beginning to look at color as a personal remedy.  It’s something I can actually do myself without having to pay some high price to a psychologist to help me function in this fast-paced, changing world of moods, structures and systems in chaos.

As I continue shopping for the hue of blue, I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue,
and the dreams that you dare to dream really
do come true. – Lyman Frank Baum

5 Responses to Try A Little Color Therapy – See What The Color Blue Can Do For You

  1. So crazy that you posted on this today! I just read an article on Yahoo this morning regarding 11 reasons you might be over weight and color in your home was one of the reasons. It talked about how reds and yellows, especially if they are in your dining room or kitchen area, can stimulate your appetite, while blue suppresses it.

    • mmt2mmt says:

      Woohoo! The Universe is working in our favor! I thought about your chickens while I was writing this post … what if you exposed your chickens to the colors orange and blue prior to putting them in the killing cone – orange is a relaxant inducer, sleepiness increases and there’s a sense of calmness and security increases when mixed with the color of blue … however, LOL, I didn’t know if chickens were color blind 🙂 What a great piece of chicken this would make … my husband and I eat a lot of chicken and buy only Amish chicken

  2. Liz Fish says:

    Blue is also 5th chakra located throat/ear area organ thyroid (metabolism) related to all forms of communication ie speaking, inner voice, listening, writing and creativity. Stones to wear lapis lazuli, sodalite, aquamarine, kyanite, blue quartz any blue gems or minerals. Stones can also be placed in water to bathe or drink to admit their vibration.

Leave a Reply

