Amy’s Kitchen, Kettle Chips and Whole Foods Stores Are The Winners! Non-GMO/GE Providers

I’m getting lots of traffic on my genetically modified/genetically engineered (GMO/GE) food blog from April 2, 2012.  A lot of you have asked how to read the label and know if the food contains GMO/GE ingredients.

After spending a moderate amount of time trying to understand this question myself, I realized that it is better to give you a list of brands that are non-GMO/GE.

During my research, I came upon a healthy, foodiliciously-filled website called Nourished Kitchen, Reviving Traditional Foods.  Jenny, housewife, mother and cooking instructor, has a very extensive list of non-GMO/GE providers and manufacturers with links to their sites. CLICK HERE for Jenny’s website.

My favorite non-GMO/GE provider is Amy’s Kitchen.  CLICK HERE to see Amy’s great shopping list you can use when you’re ready to go grocery shopping for her products.  Two other favorites of mine are Kettle Chips and Whole Foods store brands.  I know these foods are more expensive but you can pay now or pay later!

If you want to get down and dirty into densely populated information about GMO/GE foods, ProQuest, a provider of more than 125 billion digital pages of scholarly research is great.  CLICK HERE to see what they have to offer.  This is a statement, just the tip of the iceberg, describing some GM foods from their website that caught my eye:

“Some examples of these plants include tomatoes and cantalopes that have modified ripening characteristics, soybeans and sugarbeets that are resistant to herbicides, and corn and cotton plants with increased resistance to insect pests. Not all these products are available in supermarkets yet; however, the prevalence of GM foods in U.S. grocery stores is more widespread than is commonly thought. While there are very, very few genetically-modified whole fruits and vegetables available on produce stands, highly processed foods, such as vegetable oils or breakfast cereals, most likely contain some tiny percentage of genetically-modified ingredients because the raw ingredients have been pooled into one processing stream from many different sources. Also, the ubiquity of soybean derivatives as food additives in the modern American diet virtually ensures that all U.S. consumers have been exposed to GM food products. “

As you know, my disclaimer to all of you is that I am not a doctor or a chemist, nor do I hold any professional license in the food industry.  I am a concerned consumer, just like you, that is sharing my interpretation of GMO/GE foods that will contribute positively to my physical well-being.  Until later, happy researching!

Oops, I forgot to mention a drink no-no that my husband brought to my attention.  Lately I have been enamored with Glaceau Vitaminwater until I really examined the label.  It contains 33g of carbohydrates, but more importantly, the label says, “ingredients:  reverse osmosis water, crystalline fructose, cane sugar less than …”.  I’m thinking that too much sugar isn’t good for me either – darn!  What the heck is reverse osmosis water?

I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

Leave a Reply

