Goodbye Kellogg’s, Frito Lay, Hunts, Classico & Ragu – I Hope We’ll Meet Again!

My crazy first quarter of 2012 is finally winding down.  I’m spending today just “being” – phew!

Before this crazy first quarter of my life in 2012 got underway, I was spending lots of time taking care of myself mentally and spiritually.  It wasn’t until recently that I began to focus on my physical health to bring it into alignment with my mental and spiritual path.  I think I’m sorry I started to focus so much attention on the foods I eat during this part of my perfect journey.

I had watched a Dr. Oz show about genetically modified (GMO; also called GE-genetically engineered) foods that seem to be ingredients encased in the many foods I happen to eat.  If I understood him correctly, these unnatural species of GMO/GE foods are interfering with my body’s ability to manifest a healthy body because these ingredients are not tested for human consumption.

Another way I understand these GMO/GE foods is that they are ingredients with modified organisms created by taking genes from organisms like bacteria, viruses or animals and inserting them into other unrelated species – things that would never occur in nature.  Dr. Oz was on a crusade to educate me about these foods and ban them from my kitchen – really????

When I began researching which one of my snack foods were GMO, I was shocked!  Here’s a list of GMO altered foods that I was eating:

  • Pringle’s
  • Wheat Thins
  • Triscuits
  • Thin Ripple Cut Potato Chips
  • Tortilla Chips
  • Lays Potato Chips
  • Frito Lay Corn Chips (my favorite with pickles)
  • Tostitos Salsa
  • Kellogg’s Nutri Grain Bars

I was even more shocked to find out that the following tomatoes and pasta sauces are GMO (not to mention they also contain high fructose):

  • Hunt’s (my ketchup, oh, goodbye my favorite condiment), Classico and Ragu

Now I’ve had to try to replace my GMO snack foods for the following brands of non-GMO snacks:

  • Adrienne’s, Arrowhead Mills, Barbara’s Bakery, Clif Bar, Garden of Eatin’ (Hain Celestial), Kettle Chips, Muir Glen, Que Pasa Mexican Foods, Terra Chips, Whole Foods, Eden Foods, PC Organics.

Do you know how difficult it is to shop for these brands? I spent 1-1/2 hours today buying 20 or fewer items to make a great, healthful, Mexican meal for dinner tonight.  Go figure!

How long did these food manufacturers think it would take me to care about what I put in my mouth?  With the huge listing of ingredients on all of my food labels, it’s no wonder these corporate giants are getting richer and richer everyday producing more snacks than can fit in one aisle in my grocery store.

What shocked me even more was when I realized that it probably takes many employees just trying to keep up with these strange ingredient changes in our foods and on our food labels!

So, here I sit eating my lime flavored Tostito chips for the last time.  Goodbye chip, I’ll miss you, but I’ll bet you’ll miss me more!

I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

4 Responses to Goodbye Kellogg’s, Frito Lay, Hunts, Classico & Ragu – I Hope We’ll Meet Again!

  1. I just discovered all this GMO stuff a few weeks ago. Scary stuff!

  2. […] getting lots of traffic on my genetically modified/genetically engineered (GMO/GE) food blog from April 2, 2012.  A lot of you have asked how to read the label and know if the food contains GMO/GE […]

  3. […] week I wrote several blogs on genetically modified/genetically engineered (GMO/GE) foods.  Even though I thought I was ready […]

Leave a Reply

