If You Tame Your Thoughts Can You Tame Your Ego?

I came across this old video from ABC News Nightline.  They were interviewing Eckhart Tolle about ego.  My ego, like most people in this world, is the main reason for many of my dysfunctional relationships.

Big egos can lead to conceit or an exaggerated self-importance.  Here’s how I see my ego slowly leaving my life:

–  My need for self-importance is replaced with humility and, at the same time, still being proud of me.
–  I stop and focus on the reason I make judgements about others.
–  When I start to question myself about my life choices, I quietly forgive myself.
–  When I feel a need to do battle with others, I remind myself the battle is really with me.
–  I make myself consciously aware of every emotion I’m experiencing.
–  Every emotion that I feel I ask that it swiftly leave me to bring me greater peace within.

Tempering and recognizing my ego has been the greatest gift I’ve given myself in 2011.  I couldn’t be happier.

Rumi’s poem, The Guest House says it all:

This Guest House

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

Happy holidays to me and I send you all my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

© Chris Waugh and Moment 2 Moment, 2011-2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Chris Waugh and Moment 2 Moment with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave a Reply

