Coming Home – What Does That Mean To You?

It’s a bit of a somber day for me.  It’s a day of remembering who I am and where I’m from.  What caused this personal introspection?

A high school friend died this past weekend.  Reflecting on his death, forced me to face myself.  I couldn’t understand what made my heart heavy.  Was it his physical death or my emotional rebirth?

As is customary when a life ends, I ordered flowers for the funeral celebration.  As I lifted the phone to my ear, a soft wind blew behind me as visions of my youth blew through me like a gentle nudge in my gut.

I was glad to have consciously recognized this nudge.  It’s a nudge that said, “go back to your roots, love where you’ve come from in order to prepare for where you’re going.”

These desires and sensations I’ve been experiencing are calling me to come home to who and what I’m made of and to not forget my past.

My dreams also mirror this introspection.  I’ve dreamed about a friends mother who passed on eons ago while I still lived in my small hometown.  I constantly dream about my childhood home and my own deceased parents.

It could also be that I’ve just finished the book, For one more day by Mitch Albom.  This book made me ask myself, “what would I do if I could spend one more day with a lost loved one?”

Those of you who have read this tiny little gem, know that it’s about a mother and son who meet for one last time while spirit works its magic during this visit.

It’s a beautiful story about growing up, making mistakes, seeking forgiveness and seeing the reality of a family breakup.

It’s about facing the hidden reality of family woes with our eyes open to what our family life was really all about.  It’s about love for a mother who was truly misunderstood as she humbly sacrificed herself for her children.

It doesn’t matter what has prompted my introspection, it’s more important that it’s happening.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for supporting me through this emotionally stirring journey of mine.  I realize, I’m coming home to what I’m all about before I get to where I’m going.

And to my high school friend, welcome home Ernie, welcome home.

Until tomorrow, I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

© Chris Waugh and Moment 2 Moment, 2011-2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Chris Waugh and Moment 2 Moment with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave a Reply

