Let’s Get Grounded, Let’s Meditate

“All you need is deep within you waiting to unfold and reveal itself.  All you have to do is be still and take time to seek for what is within, and you will surely find it.”  – Eileen Caddy

Do you experience inner chatter like I used to?  I’ve learned to turn off my chatter through meditation.  Until I learned to turn off this debilitating chatter, it was destroying my well-being and heightening my fears about failure, my appearance and opinions others had about me.

The chatter I’m talking about is the kind that won’t turn itself off.   This annoying chatter keeps churning negative thoughts persistently as it mulls over all the difficult situations that have occurred throughout our day.  This chatter is non-stop and runs 24/7 interfering with a restful nights sleep.

An injection of meditation on a daily basis is what eases my chatter.  Once I quiet my mind, body and spirit, I’m more able to manage my life.

Some of the benefits I’ve experienced with my focus on meditation are:

  • Improved concentration
  • Increased self-awareness
  • Helps me attain spiritual enlightenment
  • Reduced anxiety
  • Lower levels of stress hormones
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Improved circulation
  • Controlled pulse and respiratory rates
  • Increased overall well-being

Meditation isn’t only for mystics, philosophers, shamans or yogis.  You don’t need a lot of time to meditate.

What you do need to know is that meditation can beat stress and help you understand more about yourself.

I might be beating a dead horse, but meditation is such a crucial part of well-being, I can’t believe that many people ignore this thousand-year old practice for inner harmony.

Try to start a meditation regime today.  Here are some ideas to start your daily ritual.

  1. Create a space in your home for meditating; a peaceful and quiet spot will work.
  2. Add a special chair and try playing tranquil music.
  3. If you don’t have a space at home, improvise by using a bench outside, the ground, a library, or in a gazebo at a local park.

Here are some common poses to use:

  • In a seated position on a chair, head and spine straight, feet flat on the floor and your hands on your thighs.  This is how I started to learn to meditate.
  • Try a cross-legged position on the floor the way the Indian yogis use.  Sit upright, head and spine straight, and your feet tucked under your legs and your palms resting on your thighs.
  • Use a kneeling position.  This is the way I meditate on a meditation bench with a slightly forward tipped slope.  You can also just kneel sitting on your calves, head and spine straight and hands on your thighs.
  • Lying down is also another meditation pose.  This position is called the Savasana or Corpse posture.  Just lie down on your back, legs straight and relaxed with your arms resting comfortably by your sides.

Now that you’ve chosen your perfect pose, do the following:

  1. Close your eyes and breathe normally for a few breaths.
  2. For starters, count as you inhale and exhale while you count – like this:  one (inhale/exhale), two (inhale/exhale), three (inhale/exhale).  Count to five and then start counting all over again starting with one and so on.
  3. Sense the air going in and out of your body.  Your mind will try to distract you at this point.  Begin to bring your mind back to your breathing when you feel you’ve wandered off from your counting segment.
  4. When you are ready to stop, slowly open your eyes and take one last large breath to wrap up your session

Until tomorrow, I’ll see you right back here for my Blogtalk Friday.  As always, I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant day.

(This author shall not be held liable for any loss or other damages, including but not limited to incidental, consequential, or other damages. This author makes no claims for any medical benefits of this program. The advice of a competent medical professional should always be sought in the case of health matters.  Copyright in this document belongs to this author.)

Leave a Reply

