Healing In A Blended Family – What’s Love Got To Do With It?

Eventually you will come to understand that love heals everything, and love is all there is – Gary Zukav

I had a marvelous day of healing love yesterday as a step-grandmother in a most incredible stepfamily.

I spent my day babysitting three precious darlings as we walked, talked and played at the playground and took a dip at the pool.  I wrapped up my evening by babysitting for one of the newest additions to our family, and he gazed at us with loving eyes as he smiled for the camera.

I’ve been blessed to have survived a second marriage and the blessings of raising my two boys in a blended family.  With 50% of first marriages and 67% of second marriages ending in divorce, we’ve made it work and we couldn’t have done it without love.

We’ve now reached the point in our lives where we are experiencing the blessings of grandchildren.  I have two beautiful grandchildren and my husband has seven and one on the way.   The lessons of unconditional love we learn from these beautiful children are what love is all about.

Grandchildren are like puppies that love unconditionally.  They gaze into my eyes with that little sparkle that’s undeniable.  They twirl, swirl, spit-up and mess up my house.  I melt when I look into their eyes and feel a tremendous swell of love.  They wrap their tiny little arms around me and say, “I love you grandma.”

There is a powerful healing in this kind of love and one that can’t be denied.  To give and receive this type of love is so healing.  Love is an energy that soothes my soul, and I’m incredibly lucky to be surrounded with so much love.

All I ask of you today is to remember what it feels like to give and receive love – a love as sweet and innocent as a child.  And while you are doing that, remember to love like there’s no tomorrow.

Listen to what Deepak Chopra says about the healing effect of love.  I’ll see you all right back here tomorrow and I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant day.

(This author shall not be held liable for any loss or other damages, including but not limited to incidental, consequential, or other damages. This author makes no claims for any medical benefits of this program. The advice of a competent medical professional should always be sought in the case of health matters.  Copyright in this document belongs to this author.)

Leave a Reply

