Milwaukee’s St. Joan Of Arc Chapel – An Ephiphany From Nature

Last week I was traveling to Door County, Wisconsin to experience a week of relaxation with nature.  We decided to make a stop at Marquette University in Milwaukee to visit my husband’s alma mater.

I’ve been to Marquette before, but the trip was always after experiencing a grueling work week of things I really rarely enjoyed.  I was never able to appreciate my vacations because I allowed my job to consume my life.

As you know, I’ve been spending a lot of my time over the past few years getting in touch with me.  This time this visit was very different and something I desperately needed.

What happened to me after visiting St. Joan of Arc chapel at Marquette, was an epiphany.  I know I’m on the right path physically, spiritually and emotionally.

The St. Joan of Arc chapel was relocated to the United States in the 1960s from France.  It was rebuilt  and dedicated in Milwaukee in 1966 to Joan of Arc.  It was originally built in the Rhone River Valley in France in the 15th century.

Joan of Arc Stone

It’s a small chapel and it is said to have been the place that Joan of Arc prayed before a statue of Mary, the mother of Jesus, standing on a stone in the chapel.  At the end of her prayer, she kissed the stone and ever since then, it has been colder than the surrounding stones.

In the chapel, I spent some time in meditation and prayer asking for some sign that my current journey was the right journey and I requested that a sign be sent to me to confirm I’m on the right path.  It was a powerful moment of prayer.

What happened next, blew me away.  I walked out of the chapel and happened to look up to see the steeple atop the chapel.  What stared back at me was a small white cloud with a rainbow in the center that appeared and disappeared very quickly – right before my eyes.

With my husband by my side witnessing the same thing, I was able to capture this image with my Blackberry (a bit fuzzy, but real).  This is what it looked like:

It’s my understanding that rainbows appear during or after a storm and what we experienced is a rare phenomenon seen by few people.

This moment was a monumental epiphany for me.  There’s definitely something going on in and around me that can’t be dismissed. Maybe it’s as simple as finally opening my eyes and seeing the beautiful reality around me.

I’ve opened myself up to the possibility that I need to observe life through a different set of lenses.  I’ve been so caught up in receiving signs that I’ve created in my own mind, that I’m almost certain I’ve overlooked other obvious signs through nature, like this one in Milwaukee.

I’m now convinced there are many signs around me, I just need to open my eyes and grasp them.  I’ll ask myself, moment to moment,  “What signs am I overlooking in my life today?”  I need to be willing to slow down long enough to appreciate the simple messages I receive on a daily basis.

Don’t be like me and wait until you receive an alarming wake-up call.  Put on those pair of rose-colored glasses and open yourself up to the possibilities staring you right in the face.  If not now, when?

I’ll see you all back here tomorrow and I send you my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant day.

(This author shall not be held liable for any loss or other damages, including but not limited to incidental, consequential, or other damages. This author makes no claims for any medical benefits of this program. The advice of a competent medical professional should always be sought in the case of health matters.  Copyright in this document belongs to this author.)

2 Responses to Milwaukee’s St. Joan Of Arc Chapel – An Ephiphany From Nature

  1. […] out my other rainbow moments on my blog of August 1, 2011 and August 11, 2011.  Some people find pennies, I find rainbows; but I have to tell you, […]

  2. […] my spiritual message that I’m on the right track.  (See my posts from June 6,  June 10, August 1, August […]

Leave a Reply

