Satsang, Being With Truth – Create Good Karma And Leave It Wherever You Go

I was invited this past Friday, July 15th, to join a local hindu based, satsang group, as they celebrated “the full moon of the teacher.”  This celebration was a significant one for this particular date on the lunar calendar.  My invitation stated,

“This Friday is Guru Purnima (celebrating the guru).  It is a great time to come together to celebrate the gifts we have received from the Teachers who have come before us.  Please join us as we come together simply to share good company and spend a few minutes in meditation with the benefit of the synergy of like minds and hearts.”

For those of you unfamiliar with the word satsang, it means a gathering or community of like-minded souls focusing on what is true.  It is said that during this particular lunar calendar that the guru principle is many times more active during this period as compared to any other full moon during this year.

It is my understanding, and now my experience, that this community gathering was about opening our hearts through a celebration honoring our gurus with an evening of remembering them for their life teachings.

Fruit and floral offerings were thrown into a fire pit we surrounded as we repeated the mahakali mantra.  The fruit and flora were the main focus of this evening as symbolic gifts in honor of these teachers.  It was truly a beautiful evening of community and thanks.

Before the celebration began, the group shared information about their swami (master of himself), Sri Kaleshwar.

Many of them had recently returned from a visit to Sri Kaleshwar in India and brought back a gift of white ash to share with the group.  I was presented with this gift and I accepted it, thankful for the opportunity to share in this special event.

This group profoundly touched my heart with their open and caring approach to helping me understand what this monumental event meant to them.  Their hospitality was more than I ever expected, and their love of Sri Kaleshwar was very evident.

I thank Himavat Ishaya (a local healer who has been a vehicle for tremendous growth in my life) for this invitation, and I thank myself for the freedom to step out-of-the-box and experience life’s precious gifts presented to me during my journey to self-transformation.

With the grace that the beautiful invitation was presented to me, I send to you, as always, my blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant day.

(This author shall not be held liable for any loss or other damages, including but not limited to incidental, consequential, or other damages. This author makes no claims for any medical benefits of this program. The advice of a competent medical professional should always be sought in the case of health matters.  Copyright in this document belongs to this author.)

Leave a Reply

