Meditation, Meditation, Meditation . . . Did I Say Meditation?

This morning I had such a beautiful and peaceful feeling of gratitude while I did my morning meditation.  The geese in the lake seemed to be chanting love, love, love as I sat in the presence of the moment listening to every quack, screech, honk and chirp of nature.  Mindfulness, says Thich Nhat Hanh is . . . :

where we can learn to live in the present moment instead of in the past and in the future.  Dwelling in the present moment is the only way to truly develop peace, both in one’s self and in the world.

Meditation is such a beautiful practice and one I incorporate into my life everyday.  I’ve been meditating for several years, but not as serious as my practice has become today.  I joined my local Tri-State Dharma group, an organization designed to promote the study and practice of Insight Meditation in the Buddhist Theravadin tradition, which is why my meditation has become serious business for me.

"Shhhhh, Chatty Cathy"

On Sunday mornings, the Tri-State Dharma group usually meditates for approximately a little over an hour and then we gather for tea and reflect on the teachings of Buddha.  I knew I belonged to this group when I found myself enjoying the hour, or so, in silence.  Me and silence have rarely shared the same stage, until now!

I rush to get to these meditation sessions and wish they didn’t have to end so soon.  I’ve been assured by the group that I’ll have many opportunities to go on a meditation retreat from two days to up to 10 days very soon!  Imagine me, “Chatty Cathy”, staying silent for 10 days!

If you ever meet him, you’ll have to ask my husband what it’s like to go from “Chatty Cathy” to “Calm Chris”.  I know he notices the difference as I sit in silence all day surrounded by my books, computer and stories I dream up because of this mindfulness practice.  It’s awesome!

No more television to clog my mind with ego trips and subliminal sales messages . . . you know the ones.  These marketing gurus try to make us feel as though we aren’t living life without the big house, new car, good looks, expensive clothes, cash draining makeup products and the right furniture.

How about this on-air marketing jingle for Value City:  “I want it all, I want it all, I want it now!”  That ad makes me sad as I know the powerful effect it has on the majority of the viewing public as the message sinks deeper and deeper into our psyche’s, the hard-drive of our soul.  I love the tune, but I close my eyes and replace the pictures from the ad with me meditating.

Well, I have created a new “all” for me from my consistent meditation practice.  If for only a moment I can revel in silence – I have it all.  If all means peace, calm, love and serenity, I have it all – moment to moment.

How about you?  Are you consciously choosing to stop the chaos and practice something that is life-altering?  This practice is how millions of people today successfully walk through the “maze of craze”  that takes up so much of our everyday life.  If for only an hour, you could bring inspiration and creativity to you from one consistent practice, this is it.

See you all tomorrow!

(This author shall not be held liable for any loss or other damages, including but not limited to incidental, consequential, or other damages. This author makes no claims for any medical benefits of this program. The advice of a competent medical professional should always be sought in the case of health matters.  Copyright in this document belongs to this author.)

Leave a Reply

