A Week of Techniques – Technique #4 Ho’oponopono, Move Over Intellect and Let the Light Shine In

“If I am veiled in memories, inspiration cannot come.”    Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len

Ho’oponopono (hō ‘ōpōnōpōnō) means to “rectify and make things right; to correct an error”.  By releasing painful memories that are going on in me that are causing you a problem is the premise of this technique.  It’s an ancient Hawaiian art of problem solving, originally for family issues but re-engineered for more professional, contemporary use today.  It is a process that makes us 100% responsible for every, and any, problem, animate or inanimate, in the world that is caused by us.  You ask, “Us . . . how?”

Mabel Katz's recommended cleaning tool

Have you ever met anyone or anything you didn’t like or didn’t feel good about?  Do you get negative vibrations from others or no patience with odd personalities?  Do you have difficulty with moaners, whiners and complainers?  Do you notice that you are always present when there is a problem, conflict or an uncomfortable situation arises?  If the answer is “yes”, you’ve come to the right place.

Ho’oponopono says that whenever you encounter conflict, collapse or disintegration of inanimate objects, accidents, war, crime or a whole host of tragedies, say, “I love you, I’m sorry, please forgive me and thank you.”  You don’t even have to be the person personally experiencing the tragic accident, war or crime, your job is to just clean by saying the four statements above.  It’s about asking for forgiveness and repentance and asking yourself, “what is going on in me that created this problem.”   As you clean say “I love you, I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you”.

Dr. Ihaleakalá Hew Len, my ho’oponopono teacher, said to me in the spring of 2010 that “I should take 100% responsibility and clean my memories; whatever gets erased from me, gets erased from other people, families, relatives, ancestors and the earth.”   He said to me, “people show up because something in you needs to make amends”.   He further explained to our group that our conscious mind is clueless and only holds 15 bits of memory.  Our subconscious mind, also referred to as our “inner child” or “unihipili”, holds more than 11 million bits of memory.  He says, “What is in one is in all!  Just clean, clean, clean.”

Sign up for IZI, LLC Training to find out why blueberries?

He often smirked at attendees when they would ask questions like, “but I don’t understand, how can blueberries help me” or “what do you mean by light switch”, referring to other cleaning tools/objects presented to us during the session.

My seminar consisted of lots of professional people (doctors, nurses, teachers, yoga instructors, Ph.Ds, housewives, house-husbands, etc.) letting their intellectual nature get into their way by asking so many questions.  At this point, Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len asked them to stop, get back to zero, clean, clean, clean and, borrowing the Nike slogan, he abruptly said, “Just Do It”.  If you’ve read Zero Limits, Joe Vitale’s book about ho’oponopono you’ll understand what I’m talking about.

You will often see many articles written about this technique being as simple as saying, “I love you”, “I’m sorry”, “Please forgive me”, and “Thank You”.   My carefree spirit says, “yes, it’s that simple”; my intellectual self says, “no, it’s not that simple”.  If you attend a weekend seminar with IZI, LLC, it’s that simple.  But if you haven’t attended a seminar, you will find that there is more to this ancient practice than just those four terms.

You see, healing your inner child takes detection, reflection and permission to work through processes to heal wounds we don’t even know we have until we encounter conflict.  The seminar gets into more detail about the spiritual 12 step process that I have persistently used on a daily basis for the last 12 months.  And, yes, it has been a tremendous healing process for me and I will continue to work this 12 step process ongoing as my life continues to improve moment to moment.

I highly recommend using Mabel Katz, the foremost authority for ho’oponopono.  CLICK HERE to see what Mabel can offer you to further your journey through ho’oponopono.  CLICK HERE to read more information about our intellect and what Mabel has to say.

I’ll see you tomorrow right back here for blogtalk Friday!  Oh, and I forgot –  “I love you, I’m sorry, please forgive me and thank you”.  Ciao!

(This author shall not be held liable for any loss or other damages, including but not limited to incidental, consequential, or other damages. This author makes no claims for any medical benefits of this program. The advice of a competent medical professional should always be sought in the case of health matters.  Copyright in this document belongs to this author.)

Leave a Reply

