Do You Have a Beginner’s Mind Or An Expert’s Mind? Living Deeply Tells Me So

I’ve recently been reading a fabulous book, Living Deeply by Marilyn Mandala Schlitz, Ph.D., Cassandra Vieten, Ph.D., and Tina Amorok, Psy.D.  It is yet another book reinforcing the view that meditation makes all the difference in my well-being and transformation.  Everything I’ve chosen to read lately has been about the benefits of meditation.  I think someone is trying to tell me something.

I’m so glad that meditation is bombarding my life right now as I’m spending a considerable part of my time practicing meditation.  I meditate in the morning and evening and it feels SO good.  I’ve not had the AHA moments everyone is talking about, but I have reached a state of inner peace and serenity.  Just ask my husband; he seems to be very pleased with the results and he gives me more than enough time to practice my newfound love.

Besides the benefits of meditation, Living Deeply tells me that I have a Beginner’s Mind.  Yea!  A beginner’s mind is one of curiosity, openness and interest in things.  My worldview changes after I encounter situations different than what I’m accustomed to.  The authors say that a beginner’s mind tries to get a better understanding of the way things actually are.

On the other hand, they claim there are people with an Expert’s Mind; someone who has a rigid belief structure, can’t embrace a big shift in their beliefs, and has a strict model of the world.  These individuals have a more difficult time embracing transforming experiences in their lives.  I am certainly not one of these.  As an old Zen saying goes, “In the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities; in the expert’s mind there are few.”

I like transformation as I experience something new every day.  That’s why I’m writing this blog.  I just can’t keep the things I learn to myself any longer.  I bubble over with excitement to share my new learning.

A lot of my transformations have occurred in my travels to Brazil, Calgary, Toronto, Wales, Scotland, London, Paris, Beijing, Xi’an, Istanbul, Cairo, and to most states in North America.   Each trip opened my eyes to another way of life outside of what I knew.  I’ve been so fortunate to have traveled to many places that most people will never experience.  I always traveled with an open mind and an ear to hear everything I could about these wonderful cities and the people that inhabit them.

With this expansion of my mind, my basic needs of food, shelter and safety are the three things I am grateful to have secured.  I’m now focusing on practicing my meditation and getting to know myself.  Practice makes perfect and George Leonard, author of Mastery, said, “If you want to catch the grace of the wind, you must put up your sails. Practice!”

Why have you put the practice of meditation on hold?  It’s sitting there waiting for you.  Transformation is the key to consciousness.  Join the Chopra University 21-day challenge at http://www.chopra.com/meditationchallenge – it’s not too late and it’s FREE!

Leave a Reply

